Quick Answer: What Are Littoral Countries?

How many littoral states are there in Indian Ocean?

29 littoral1 The broader Indian Ocean ‘Rim’ consists of 29 littoral countries and 6 island states..

What are the 7 seas and 5 Oceans?

The Seven Seas include the Arctic, North Atlantic, South Atlantic, North Pacific, South Pacific, Indian, and Southern Oceans. The exact origin of the phrase ‘Seven Seas’ is uncertain, although there are references in ancient literature that date back thousands of years.

Is Bay of Bengal salty?

Salinity near the surface in the northern Bay of Bengal can be as low as 31 ppt because the bay receives lots of freshwater in the form of rain and from runoff of surrounding rivers (Ganga, Brahmaputra, Irrawaddy, Godavari, and others).

Why is the Bay of Bengal dangerous?

What makes the Bay of Bengal so deadly? The worst places for storm surges, say meteorologists, tend to be shallow, concave bays where water, pushed by the strong winds of a tropical cyclone, gets concentrated or funnelled as the storm moves up the bay.

What is the difference between Arabian Sea and Bay of Bengal?

Arabian Sea- the expanse of salt water that covers most of the earth’s surface and surrounds it is landmass. Bay of Bengal – A broad inlet of sea where the land curves inwards. … Role played in Monsoon – There is difference in both water bodies by the role played by each in monsoon of India.

Where is Bangopsagar?

Bay of BengalBasin countriesBangladesh India Indonesia Myanmar Sri LankaMax. length2,090 km (1,300 mi)Max. width1,610 km (1,000 mi)Surface area2,600,000 km2 (1,000,000 sq mi)8 more rows

What happens in the littoral zone?

Littoral zone, marine ecological realm that experiences the effects of tidal and longshore currents and breaking waves to a depth of 5 to 10 metres (16 to 33 feet) below the low-tide level, depending on the intensity of storm waves. … The geological nature of shorelines and nearshore bottoms is exceedingly varied.

What is the Indian Ocean region?

The Indian Ocean is the world’s third-largest ocean and constitutes about 20 percent of the water on the Earth’s surface. It is bounded on the west by East Africa, on the north by India, on the east by Indochina and Australia, and on the south by the Southern Ocean off the coast of Antarctica.

Which is the largest bay of world?

Bay of BengalSeas have an enormous impact on the people who live near them. The Bay of Bengal, the largest bay in the world, is a sea that is part of the northeastern Indian Ocean. This sea has played a pivotal role in the histories of the nations that surround it, including India, Bangladesh, Myanmar, and Indonesia.

Which is bigger Arabian Sea or Bay of Bengal?

Bay of Bengal: 2,172,000 Square Kilometers. Arabian Sea: 3,862,000 Square Kilometers. … Whereas the Arabian sea is located on the western side of India. Comparing to the size of Bay of the Bengal, and the Arabian sea occupies more space and hence it is the larger Sea as per the statistical data.

What is a littoral country?

Anything littoral has to do with a coast or shore. A littoral state has a coast, so Florida, California, and North Carolina are littoral states, to name a few. If you live far away from any water, then you probably won’t hear the word littoral much because it refers to things related to shores and coasts.

Where is the littoral zone?

A littoral zone is the near shore area from the high water line to where the sunlight penetrates to the sediments in a waterbody. This zone may or may not contain plant life but it is the optimal region for aquatic plants to grow. Littoral zones are present in both fresh and saltwater environments.

What countries are in the Indian Ocean?

The Indian Ocean is bounded by Iran, Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh to the north; the Malay Peninsula, the Sunda Islands of Indonesia, and Australia to the east; Antarctica to the south; and Africa and the Arabian Peninsula to the west.

Is West Bengal a part of India?

West Bengal (/bɛnˈɡɔːl/) is a state in the eastern region of India along the Bay of Bengal. … Part of the Bengal region of the Indian subcontinent, it borders Bangladesh in the east, and Nepal and Bhutan in the north. It also borders the Indian states of Odisha, Jharkhand, Bihar, Sikkim and Assam.

Who owns Bengal Bay?

BIMSTECThe BIMSTEC member states – Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Thailand – are among the countries dependent on the Bay of Bengal. Fourteen priority sectors of cooperation have been identified and several BIMSTEC centres have been established to focus on those sectors.